Center for Bionic Medicine Faculty & Staff - Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

Skip to Content

CBM Staff

Lab Directors

Todd Kuiken, MD, PhD

Todd Kuiken, MD, PhD
Director, Center for Bionic Medicine
Director, Amputee Research & Clinical Systems Lab
312-238-2080
tkuiken@northwestern.edu

Levi Hargrove, PhD

Levi Hargrove, PhD
Director, Neural Engineering for Prosthetics & Orthotics Lab
312-238-2084
l-hargrove@northwestern.edu

Arun Jayaraman, PhD

Arun Jayaraman, PT, PhD
Director, Max Nader Center for Rehabilitation Technologies & Outcomes
312-238-6875
a-jayaraman@northwestern.edu

Elliott Rouse, PhD

Elliott Rouse, PhD
Director, Neurobionics Lab
312-238-0938
erouse@northwestern.edu

Clinical Faculty/Staff

Ian Burford, MSPO

Ian Burford, MSPO
Prosthetics Resident
iburford@ric.org

Gregory Dumanian, MD

Gregory A. Dumanian, MD, FACS
Surgeon
312-695-6022
gdumania@nmh.org

Suzanne Finucane, PTA, MS

Suzanne Finucane, MS, PTA
Operations Manager
312-238-0937
sfinucane@ric.org

Susan Deems

Susan Deems-Dluhy, PT, DPT, NCS
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-2637
sdluhy@ric.org

Kristen Hohl, DPT

Kristen Hohl, DPT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-1378
khohl@ricres.org

Shenan Hoppe-Ludwig

Shenan Hoppe-Ludwig, CPO
Research Prosthetist-Orthotist
312-238-5658
shludwig@ricres.org

Saninder Kaur, MD

Saninder Kaur, MD
Research Intern
skaur@ricres.org

Ramen Landon, CTPO

Ramen Landon, MPO, CTPO
Prosthetics Research Resident
312-238-2139
rlandon@ric.org

Kelly Lee, CP

Kelly Lee, CP
Research Prosthetist
312-238-1565
klee@ric.org
Lori McGee-Koch

Lori McGee Koch
Lab Manager, Max Nader Center for RT&O
lmkoch@ricres.org

Laura Miller, CP, PhD

Laura Miller, CP, PhD
Research Scientist/Prosthetist
312-238-1183
lamiller@northwestern.edu

Raquel Minarsch, DPT Raquel Minarsch, PT, DPT, NCS
Research Physical Therapist
rminarsch@ricres.org
Sarra Mullen, CP

Sarra Mullen, CP
Research Prosthetist
312-238-1565
smullen@ric.org

Kate Scanlan, PT

Kate Scanlan, PT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-1355
kscanlan@ricres.org

Kristi Turner, OTR/L

Kristi Turner, OTR/L
Research Occupational Therapist
312-238-1364
kturner@ricres.org

Technical Faculty/Staff

Ann Barlow, PhD

Ann Barlow, PhD
Lead Scientific Writer/
Research Grant Manager
312-238-5653
abarlow@ric.org

Sheila Burt, BS

Sheila Burt, BS
Lead Science Writer/Communications
312-238-1569
sburt@ricres.org

Nabeel Chowdhury, BS

Nabeel Chowdhury, BS
Research Assistant
312-238-1193
nchowdhury@ricres.org

Kyle Kaveny, MS

Kyle Kaveny, MS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-6522
kkaveny@ric.org

Tomasso Lenzi, PhD Tommaso Lenzi, PhD
Research Scientist
312-238-1570
lenzi@northwestern.edu

Jim Lipsey, MS

Jim Lipsey, MS, PE
Engineering Manager
312-238-1568
j-lipsey@northwestern.edu

Virg Mazzeo, BS

Virg Mazzeo, BS
Research Engineer
312-238-1362
vmazzeo@ric.org

Matt Mongeon, MS

Matt Mongeon, MS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-1769
mmongeon@ricres.org
CK Mummidisetty Chaithanya Mummidisetty, MS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-1621
k-mummidisetty@ricres.org

Jose Ochoa

Jose Ochoa, MS
Research Engineer
312-238-1567
jochoaesc1@ric.org
Jeremy Peshkin Jeremy Peshkin
Research Assistant
312-238-8228
jpeshkin@ricres.org

Tom Pickerill

Tom Pickerill, BSME
Research Engineer
312-238-6036
tpickerill@ricres.org

Emily Seyforth

Emily Seyforth, BS
Research Engineer
312-238-2083
eseyforth@ricres.org

Tom Sharkey

Tom Sharkey, BSME
Research Engineer-III
312-238-1564
tsharkey@ricres.org

Annie Simon, PhD

Annie Simon, PhD
Engineering Manager, Biomedical Engineering
312-238-1158
annie-simon@northwestern.edu

Michael Stephens

Michael Stephens, BS
Research Engineer-III
312-238-1571
mstephens@ricres.org

Ashley Swartz, BS

Ashley Swartz, BS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-0943
aswartz@ricres.org

Frank Ursetta, MS

Frank Ursetta, MS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-1382
fursetta@ricres.org

Administrative Staff

Andrea Moore

Andre'a Moore
Business Support Manager
312-238-2087
amoore@ric.org

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Marco Cempini

Marco Cempini, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-2086
mcempini@ric.org

Chandra Jayaraman, PhD

Chandrasekaran Jayaraman, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-3103
cjayaraman@ricres.org

Luca Lonini, PhD

Luca Lonini, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-1619
llonini@ricres.org

Tim Reissman, PhD

Tim Reissman, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-2085
t-reissman@northwestern.edu
Richard Woodward, PhD

Richard Woodward, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-1476
rwoodward@northwestern.edu

Graduate Students

Adenike Adewuyi

Adenike Adewuyi, BS
MD/PhD Student, MSTP
312-238-1286
adenike-adewuyi
@fsm.northwestern.edu

Alejandro Azocar, BS

Alejandro F. Azocar, BS
PhD Student, BME
afazocar@u.northwestern.edu

Eric Earley, PhD

Eric Earley, MS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-2079
ericearley@
u.northwestern.edu

Paul Hammond

Paul Hammond II, BS
MS Student, BME
312-238-6491
paulhammond2016@
u.northwestern.edu

Blair Hu Blair Hu, BS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-6099
blairhu2014@
u.northwestern.edu

Rikki Irwin

Rikki Irwin, BS
MS Student, Robotics
rikkiirwin2016@
u.northwestern.edu

Joseph Kopke

Joseph Kopke
PT/PhD Student
josephkopke2017@
u.northwestern.edu

Nili Krausz

Nili Krausz, MS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1562
nilikrausz2013@
u.northwestern.edu

Yunchu Liu

Yunchu Liu, B.Eng.
MS Student, Robotics
YunchuLiu2016@u.
northwestern.edu

Yves Nazon, BS

Yves Nazon II, BS
PhD Student, ME
yvesnazon2020@u.
northwestern.edu

Max Shepherd

Max Shepherd, BS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1268
maxshep@
u.northwestern.edu

Amanda Shorter, BAS

Amanda Shorter, BAS
PhD Student, BME
amandashorter2021@u.
northwestern.edu

John Spanias, MS

John Spanias, MS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1475
john.spanias@
u.northwestern.edu

Mariah Whitmore, BS

Mariah Whitmore, MS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1114
mariahwhitmore2012@
u.northwestern.edu

Research Interns

Maggie Coats

Margaret Coats-Thomas, BSc
MD/PhD Student, MSTP
margaret.coats-thomas@
northwestern.edu

Patrick Franks

Patrick Franks, BS
Research Intern
patrickfranks2016@u.
northwestern.edu

Mudassir Khan

Mudassir Khan, BS
Research Intern
University of Illinois
mkhan@ricres.org

Alexandra Loesch, BE

Alexandra Loesch, BE
Research Intern
aloesch@ricres.org

Nathan LeDeaux

Nathan LeDeaux, BS
Research Intern
Northwestern University Medical Student
nledeaux@ricres.org

Alexey Revinski

Alexey Revinski, BS
Research Intern
Northwestern University
312-238-1316
alexeyrevinski2017@
u.northwestern.edu

Summer Research Interns

Kevin Brenner

Kevin Brenner
Summer Research Intern
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
kbrenner@ric.org

Kasen Culler

Kasen Culler
Summer Research Intern
Northwestern University
kasen2017@u.northwestern.
edu

Andrew Dai

Andrew Dai
Summer Research Intern
Northwestern University
andrewdai2017@u.
northwestern.edu

Laurynas Kalesinskas

Laurynas Kalesinskas
Summer Research Intern
Loyola University
lkalesinskas@luc.edu

Ethan Kramer

Ethan Kramer
Summer Research Intern
Cornell University
esk85@cornell.edu

Ishani Mathur

Ishani Mathur
Summer Research Intern
University of Michigan
imathur@ricres.org

Nina Petelina

Nina Petelina
Summer Research Intern
MIT
petelina@mit.edu

Rachel Rogers

Rachel Rogers
Summer Research Intern
Northwestern University
rachelrogers2017@u.
northwestern.edu

Nataliya Rokhmanova

Nataliya Rokhmanova
Summer Research Intern
Northwestern University
nataliyarokhmanova2017@u.
northwestern.edu

Ilona Shparii

Ilona Shparii
Summer Research Intern
Loyola University
ishparii@luc.edu