Skip to Content

RIC Center for Bionic Medicine

The Center for Bionic Medicine of the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

CBM People

Center Director

Todd Kuiken, MD, PhD

Todd Kuiken, MD, PhD
Director, Center for Bionic Medicine
Director, Amputee Research & Clinical Systems Lab
312-238-2080
tkuiken@northwestern.edu

Lab Directors

Levi Hargrove, PhD

Levi Hargrove, PhD
Director, Neural Engineering for Prosthetics & Orthotics Lab
312-238-2084
l-hargrove@northwestern.edu

Arun Jayaraman, PT, PhD

Arun Jayaraman, PT, PhD
Director, Max Nader Center for Rehabilitation Technologies & Outcomes
312-238-6875
a-jayaraman@northwestern.edu

Clinical Faculty/Staff

Suzanne Finucane, PTA

Suzanne Finucane, PTA
Physical Therapist Assistant
312-238-0937
sfinucane@ric.org

Susan Dluhy

Susan Dluhy, PT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-2637
sdluhy@ric.org

Elizabeth Halsne, CPO

Elizabeth Halsne, CPO
Research Prosthetist
312-238-2086
ehalsne@ric.org

Shenan Hoppe-Ludwig, CPO
Research Prosthetist-Orthotist
312-238-5658
shludwig@ricres.org

Matthew Knowlton, DPT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-2640
mknowlton@ricres.org

Lori McGee Koch
Lab Manager, Max Nader Center for RT&O
312-238-2091
lmkoch@ricres.org

Laura Miller, PhD, CP

Laura Miller, PhD, CP
Research Scientist/Prosthetist
312-238-1183
lamiller@northwestern.edu

Kate Scanlan, PT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-1355
kscanlan@ricres.org

>Heidi Roth, PT, DHS, NCS Heidi Roth, PT, DHS, NCS
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-1231
hroth@ric.org

Kristi Turner, OTR/L
Occupational Therapist
312-238-1364
kturner@ricreorg

Annie Winstanley, DPT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-1194
awinstanle@ric.org

Technical Faculty/Staff

Ann Barlow, Ph.D.

Ann Barlow, PhD
Lead Scientific Writer/
Research Grant Manager
312-238-5653
abarlow@ric.org 

Sheila Burt, BS
Science Writer/Communications
312-238-1569
sburt@ric.org

Rudhram Gajendran, MS

Rudhram Gajendran, MS
Research Engineer
312-238-1193
rgajendran@ricres.org

Tom Idstein, MS

Tom Idstein, MS
Engineering Manager, Electrical Engineering
312-238-2089
tidstein@ric.org

Kim Ingraham, BE

Kim Ingraham, BE
Research Engineer
312-238-2083
kingraham@ricres.org

Jim Lipsey, MS, PE

Jim Lipsey, MS, PE
Engineering Manager
312-238-1568
j-lipsey@northwestern.edu

Virg Mazzeo

Virg Mazzeo, BS
Research Engineer
312-238-1362
vmazzeo@ric.org

Khrishna Mummidisetty, MS

Chaithanya Mummidisetty, MS
Research Engineer-II
312-238-1621
k-mummidisetty@ricres.org

Jose Ochoa, BS

Jose Ochoa, BS
Research Engineer
312-238-1567
jochoaesc1@ric.org

Tom Sharkey

Tom Sharkey, BSME
Research Engineer
312-238-1564
tsharkey@ricres.org

Michael Stephens

Michael Stephens
Research Engineer
312-238-1571
mstephens@ricres.org

Annie Simon, PhD

Annie Simon, PhD
Engineering Manager, Biomedical Engineering
312-238-1158
annie-simon@northwestern.edu

Ashley Thomas, BS

Ashley Thomas, BS
Research Engineer
312-238-0943
athomas@ricres.org

Dat Tran, MS

Dat Tran, MS 
Applications Developer
312-238-2090
dtran11@gmail.com

Administrative Staff

Andre'a Moore

Andre'a Moore
Administrative Coordinator
312-238-2087
amoore@ric.org

Angelina An
Research Administrator
312-238-2803
aan@RIC.org

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Sean Deeny, Ph.D.

Sean Deeny, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-5651
sean.deeny@northwestern.edu

Nick Fey, PhD

Nick Fey, PhD 
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-1566
nfey@ricres.org

Tommaso Lenzi, PhD

Tommaso Lenzi, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-1570
lenzi@northwestern.edu

Luca Lonini, PhD

Luca Lonini, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-1619
llonini@ricres.org

Tim Reissman, PhD

Tim Reissman, PhD 
Post-Doctoral Fellow
312-238-2085
t-reissman@northwestern.edu

Graduate Students

Adenike Adewuyi

Adenike Adewuyi
MD/PhD Student, MSTP
312-238-1286
adenike-adewuyi
@fsm.northwestern.edu

Eric Earley

Eric Earley
MS Student
312-238-2079
ericearley2014
@u.northwestern.edu

Justin Huelman
MS Student, BME
justinhuelman2015
@u.northwestern.edu

Reva Van Aartsen

Reva Johnson
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1565
reva@u.northwestern.edu

Kyle Kaveny, BSME
MS Student, BME
kylekaveny2015
@u.northwestern.edu

Joseph Kopke

Joseph Kopke
PT/PhD Student
312-238-8228
josephkopke2017
@u.northwestern.edu

Nili Krausz, MS
PhD Student
312-238-1562
nilikrausz2013
@u.northwestern.edu

Leslie Meyer
MS Student, ME
lesliemeyer2015
@u.northwestern.edu

Joshua Peng

Joshua Peng
PT/PhD Student, PT/BME
joshuapeng2015
@u.northwestern.edu

Max Shepherd
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1268
maxshep@u.northwestern.edu

Camila Shirota, MS

Camila Shirota, MS
PhD Student, BME
312-238-6821
camila.shirota
@u.northwestern.edu

Lauren Smith

Lauren Smith
MD/PhD Student, MSTP
312-238-6099
lauren-smith@md.northwestern.edu

John Spanias

John Spanias
PhD Student, BME
312-238-1475
john.spanias
@u.northwestern.edu

Mariah Whitmore

Mariah Whitmore
PhD Student, BME
312-238-8228
mariahwhitmore2012
@u.northwestern.edu

Aaron Young

Aaron Young
PhD Student, BME
312-238-2415
ajyoung@u.northwestern.edu

Collaborators

Gregory A. Dumanian, MD

Gregory A. Dumanian, MD
FACS Surgeon
312-695-6022
gdumania@nmh.org  

Gayatri Mathur, PT
Research Physical Therapist
312-238-3840
gmathur@ric.org

Jonathon Sensinger, PhD

Jonathon Sensinger, PhD
Associate Director,
Institute of Biomedical Engineering;
Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
University of New Brunswick, Canada
1-506-458-7094
jsensing@unb.ca
Blair Lock, MS, PEng
Managing Partner, Coapt, LLC
630 N Franklin ST. Unit 811
Chicago, IL, 60654
773-540-8433